Speaker Moore Announces House Committee Chairs

Raleigh, N.C. – Speaker Tim Moore (R-Cleveland) announced Tuesday which members would lead standing committees in the 2017 session of the North Carolina House of Representatives:

“I want to thank my colleagues for their assistance in the committee assignment process and wish each chair a successful session making decisions and overseeing deliberations that affect millions of North Carolinians.

“The House is fortunate to return experienced chairs to many committees and add new leaders with fresh vision to other key roles.  I have the highest confidence that each chair will work successfully with their committee members to fix complex policy problems, pass historic reforms and find solutions to the most important issues facing North Carolina.”


Rep. Pat Hurley, Rep. Rena Turner


Rep. Mark Brody, Rep. Jimmy Dixon, Rep. Bob Steinburg

Alcoholic Beverage Control

Rep. Jamie Boles,  Rep. Chuck McGrady


Rep. Nelson Dollar, Senior Chairman

Rep. Dean Arp, Rep. John Faircloth, Rep. Linda Johnson, Rep. Donny Lambeth, Rep. Chuck McGrady

Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture and Natural and Economic Resources

Rep. Jimmy Dixon, Rep. Kyle Hall, Rep. Pat McElraft, Rep. Stephen Ross

Appropriations Subcommittee on Capital Expenditures

Rep. Justin Burr, Rep. Jon Hardister

Appropriations Subcommittee on Education

Rep. Hugh Blackwell, Rep. John Fraley, Rep. Craig Horn, Rep. Pat Hurley

Appropriations Subcommittee on General Government

Rep. George Cleveland, Rep. Dennis Riddell

Appropriations Subcommittee on Health and Human Services

Rep. William Brisson, Rep. Josh Dobson, Rep. Chris Malone, Rep. Greg Murphy

Appropriations Subcommittee on Information Technology

Rep. Jason Saine

Appropriations Subcommittee on Justice and Public Safety

Rep. Jamie Boles, Rep. Ted Davis, Jr., Rep. Allen McNeill, Rep. Rena Turner

Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation

Rep. Frank Iler, Rep. Michelle Presnell, Rep. Phil Shepard, Rep. John Torbett


Rep. Julia Howard

Commerce and Job Development

Rep. Debra Conrad, Rep. Susan Martin, Rep. Stephen Ross

Education – Community Colleges

Rep. Mark Brody, Rep. John Sauls

Education – K-12

Rep. Debra Conrad, Rep. Jeffrey Elmore, Rep. Craig Horn, Rep. Linda Johnson

Education – Universities

Rep. John Fraley, Rep. Jonathan Jordan

Elections and Ethics Law

Rep. Bert Jones, Rep. David Lewis

Energy and Public Utilities

Rep. Jeff Collins, Rep. John Szoka, Rep. Sam Watford


Rep. Pat McElraft, Rep. Larry Yarborough


Rep. John Faircloth, Rep. Ken Goodman


Rep. Bill Brawley, Rep. Jason Saine, Senior Chairmen

Rep. Kelly Hastings, Rep. Susan Martin, Rep. Mitchell Setzer, Rep. John Szoka


Rep. Justin Burr, Rep. Josh Dobson, Rep. Bert Jones, Rep. Donny Lambeth

Homeland Security, Military, and Veterans Affairs

Rep. George Cleveland, Rep. Larry Pittman, Rep. Michael Speciale

Homelessness, Foster Care, and Dependency

Rep. Jonathan Jordan


Rep. Dana Bumgardner, Rep. Mitchell Setzer

Judiciary I

Rep. Ted Davis, Jr.

Judiciary II

Rep. John Blust

Judiciary III

Rep. Jonathan Jordan, Rep. Lee Zachary

Judiciary IV

Rep. Hugh Blackwell

Pensions and Retirement

Rep. Allen McNeill

Regulatory Reform

Rep. John Bradford, Rep. Chris Millis, Rep. Dennis Riddell

Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House

Rep. David Lewis

State and Local Government I

Rep. Carl Ford

State and Local Government II

Rep. John Bradford, Rep. Sam Watford

State Personnel

Rep. Harry Warren


Rep. Kelly Hastings, Rep. Frank Iler, Rep. Phil Shepard, Rep. John Torbett

University Board of Governors Nominating

Rep. John Fraley

Wildlife Resources

Rep. Jay Adams, Rep. Chris Malone