Remote Meetings of Bipartisan N.C. House COVID-19 Working Groups Begin Wednesday at 11 am

The public can listen to the meetings at the General Assembly’s website through the audio stream of Room 1228 in the Legislative Building.

Raleigh, N.C. – The first remote meeting of the bipartisan North Carolina House Select Committee on COVID-19’s working groups is scheduled for Wednesday, March 25, 2020, at 11:00 a.m. by teleconference.  

State House Speaker Tim Moore (R-Cleveland) said the committee’s Economic Support Working Group would meet Wednesday to discuss issues facing businesses and the workforce, including unemployment insurance, taxes, and other economic concerns facing North Carolinians during the crisis.

Briefings from the General Assembly’s nonpartisan staff will also detail developing federal legislation for members of the committee, which is chaired by members of both parties.  The public can access meeting documents on the committee website. 

WHO: State House Select Committee on COVID-19 Economic Support Working Group

WHAT: Remote meeting by teleconference to discuss developing economic response to the COVID-19 crisis. 

WHEN: Wednesday, March 25, 2020 at 11:00 a.m.

WHERE: Audio stream of Room 1228 in the Legislative Building.

Speaker Moore formed the state House Select Committee on COVID-19 last week and said its working groups would continue the process of identifying emergency measures to support North Carolinians through the crisis.  

“The state House of Representatives is directing the full force of its resources to assist the administration with its response, identify emergency reforms that can be taken now to assist families and businesses in this economic upheaval, and prepare another strong disaster response form the legislature for North Carolinians facing a generational crisis,” Speaker Moore said Tuesday.

Sign up to receive press releases and newsletters regarding the state House Select Committee on COVID-19 from Speaker Moore’s legislative office.

Submit public comment to the state House Select Committee on COVID-19.