Truth in Caller ID Act Approved by North Carolina General Assembly

Bill sponsored by House Speaker Tim Moore prohibits misleading phone numbers on caller ID and text messages

Raleigh, N.C. – The state General Assembly gave final legislative approval Monday to new prohibitions on the use of misleading caller ID methods by solicitors sending calls and text messages into North Carolina.

House Bill 724 Truth in Caller ID Act is sponsored by North Carolina House Speaker Tim Moore (R-Cleveland), Rep. Jason Saine (R-Lincoln), Rep. Phil Shepard (R-Onslow), and Rep. Chris Humphrey (R-Lenoir).  It passed the state Senate Monday by a 45-0 vote and was sent to the Governor.

The bill would prohibit telephone solicitors from causing misleading information to be transmitted to users of caller identification technologies or otherwise blocking or misrepresenting the origin of the telephone solicitation.

Telephone solicitors would be required to use either their contact information or the name and number of the actual entity the sales call is being made on behalf of under the legislation.

Current law in North Carolina only prohibits telephone solicitors from knowingly using any method to block or otherwise circumvent a telephone subscriber’s use of a caller identification service.

Speaker Tim Moore said caller ID transparency would benefit customers and industries because confusing North Carolinians with misleading phone numbers is not the way to do business in the state.

“I hear about this issue all the time from my constituents in Cleveland County,” Speaker Moore said. “These spoofed phone calls and texts are a big problem for our people.  The constant use of misleading phone numbers by telemarketers and text message solicitors disrupts the daily lives of North Carolinians.”

“It can be annoying, or it can be a dangerous scam targeting our vulnerable populations.” 

“This law will create an unfair and deceptive trade practice and a private right of action to protect North Carolina customers.”

If signed into law, the bill would become effective December 1, 2019.