Transportation Board Appointments Announced by N.C. House Speaker Moore

Raleigh, N.C. – State House Speaker Tim Moore (R-Cleveland) announced two appointments to the new North Carolina Board of Transportation today.

The board was restructured to include legislative appointments this summer after financial mismanagement in the Governor’s Department of Transportation (DOT) caused nearly $750 million in overspending and widespread employee furloughs.

Legislative appointees to the new Board of Transportation will take a direct role overseeing the agency’s budgets to prevent future cash flow shortages and furloughs that have affected nearly 10,000 employees in the final year of the Governor’s first term.
Speaker Tim Moore announced two of three appointments on Friday.
Stephen Rosenburgh
Stephen Rosenburgh is Founder, President & CEO of U.S. Developments, a real estate investment company. He previously served on the North Carolina Banking Commission, the City of Charlotte’s Housing Commission and Planning Commission, the Regional Transportation Board, and the North Carolina Works Commission.
Rep. Chuck McGrady
Rep. McGrady is serving his fifth and final term in the state House of Representatives and is a Co-Chair of the House Appropriations Committee and House Alcoholic Beverage Control Committee. A former national president of the Sierra Club and Executive Director of the North Carolina Youth Camp Association, Rep. McGrady also previously served on the Georgia Board of Transportation.
“Restructuring the Board of Transportation with legislative appointments will help our state avoid a repeat of the department’s overspending and develop a long-term financial vision for infrastructure projects that benefit all North Carolinians,” Speaker Moore said.
“These appointees have a stellar record of public service and broad support from state leaders for their work on behalf of North Carolinians, and I appreciate their willingness to serve in this critical new initiative to fix infrastructure financing.”