Speaker Moore Nominated for Fourth Term Leading N.C. House, Would Tie State Record

Raleigh, N.C. – The incoming state House Republican Majority nominated Speaker Tim Moore (R-Cleveland) by acclamation on Monday to a fourth term as presiding officer of the North Carolina House of Representatives, a span that would tie a state record for the number of legislative terms holding the position.

The only previous Speaker of the House in North Carolina elected to four terms as the presiding officer was Speaker Liston B. Ramsey (D-Madison), who served in the role from 1981-1989.
First elected to the General Assembly in 2002 from Cleveland County, Speaker Moore is entering his tenth term as a member of the North Carolina House of Representatives.
The official election for Speaker is held among House members on opening day of the General Assembly’s legislative session in January. House Republicans will hold at least a 69-51 majority in the 2021-2022 legislative biennium after gaining four seats this election cycle.
North Carolina became a national leader in education funding increases and business climate success under Speaker Moore’s leadership in the state legislature since 2015.
Speaker Moore said Monday the state House will continue to focus on improving the economy and investing in education systems through responsible budgeting, a Republican agenda that produced powerful results for North Carolina families and businesses.
“I am proud we kept our promises to North Carolinians, that our record of results earned strong support from voters across the state, and most of all that I can continue serving the people of Cleveland County who trust me to be their voice in this legislature,” Moore said Monday.
“Voters recognized that House Republicans protect taxpayers and implement effective reforms for their local communities, a shared commitment to successful leadership that helps us improve state government every day by listening to North Carolinians and committing to act on their concerns.”
Despite a massive amount of out-of-state money supporting Democrats’ efforts to take control of the state House of Representatives, Republicans won the popular vote for the chamber.
House Republicans won six Democratic-held districts, regained seats in the state’s largest counties of Mecklenburg and Wake, won key mountain and coastal seats by wide margins, and were victorious in critical suburban districts across North Carolina.
The House Republican Majority also elected the following leaders:
  • Speaker Pro Tempore – Rep. Sarah Stevens (R-Surry)
  • House Majority Leader – Rep. John Bell (R-Wayne)
  • Deputy Majority Leader – Rep. Brenden Jones (R-Columbus)
  • Conference Leader – Rep. John Szoka (R-Cumberland)
  • Majority Whip – Rep. Jon Hardister (R-Guilford)
  • Joint Conference Leader – Rep. Pat Hurley (R-Randolph)
Only two previous Speakers of the House in North Carolina were elected to four terms – Speaker Liston Ramsey in the 1980s and Speaker Jim Black in the late 1990s and 2000s.